2010 Symposium photo

The CEBCP celebrated its 2-year anniversary with its 2nd Annual Evidence-Based Crime Policy Symposium and Awards Ceremony August 9-11, 2010. Expanded from last year, this symposium brought together those in the academic, practice, and policy worlds to for a series of workshops, panels, and special lectures that highlighted our three research programs.

Below is a recap of the symposium. Visit the links above for information on the presentations including video of the Director’s Panels presentations, pictures from the symposium, and press and news reports mentioning the symposium and awards ceremonies.

Monday, August 9th: Pre-symposium Workshops on Geographic Information Systems

In collaboration with George Mason University’s GIS Center of Excellence, directed by Professor Nigel Waters, the GIS CoE and CEBCP hosted two workshops on using GIS, an introductory workshop geared towards practitioners and a more advanced workshop for crime analysts and graduate students.  These workshops were led by CEBCP team members Dr. Waters, Dr. Brian Lawton and Julie Willis (Hibdon).

Tuesday, August 10th: Presentations on Crime and Place, Evidence-Based Policing, and Systematic Reviews

Panels were presented that highlighted the research being done in each of the Center’s Research Programs: Crime and PlaceEvidence-Based Policing, and Systematic Reviews. Also including was an introduction to the Campbell Collaboration and carrying out systematic reviews, as well as a review of the Evidence-Based Policing Matrix.

During lunch, the CEBCP also highlighted work done by our graduate and undergraduate students in both the Center and also the Department of Criminology, Law and Society in our Educational Showcase.

2010 Symposium photo 2Wednesday, August 11th: Director’s Panels and Awards Ceremonies

The day began with the Director’s Panels that included presentations by Phelan Wyrick(Office of Justice Programs), Robert Boruch (University of Pennsylvania), Daniel Nagin (Carnegie Mellon University), and Peter Neyroud (National Policing Improvement Agency). This panel was chaired by David Weisburd, Thomas Feucht, and Hubert Williams.

These papers were followed by the induction ceremony for the initial members of the Evidence-Based Policing Hall of Fame presented by Jim Burch, Acting Director of the Bureau of Justice Assistance. Then, the 2-Year Celebration Luncheon for the CEBCP was held and the presentation of the Distinguished Achievement Award in Evidence-Based Crime Policy to Darrel Stephens and Joan Petersilia was made by Kristina Rose, Deputy Director of the National Institute of Justice.

The CEBCP Advisory Board met in a closed session following lunch.