CEBCP 2014 Award Winners

HomeCEBCP 2014 Award Winners

The Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy proudly announces its 2014 Distinguished Achievement Award Winners and the 2014 Inductees of the Evidence-Based Policing Hall of Fame. Recipients will be celebrated at the CEBCP annual awards luncheon on June 24, 2014 at 12 noon during the CEBCP 2014 Symposium.

The 2014 Distinguished Achievement Award in Evidence-Based Crime Policy is awarded to Nicholas Fyfe, Director and Professor of the Scottish Institute for Policing Research at the University of Dundee, and Jeremy Travis, President of the John Jay College of Criminal Justice. The Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes outstanding achievements and contributions by individuals in academia, practice, or the policy arena who are committed to a leadership role in advancing the use of scientific research evidence in decisions about crime and justice policies. Fyfe and Travis are both recognized for their notable efforts in connecting criminological research with criminal justice institutions and practices. The award is conferred yearly.

Seven new members will be inducted into the Evidence-Based Policing Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame is the only recognition of its kind, recognizing impressive accomplishments by those in law enforcement who not only have been central to the implementation of a documented rigorous scientific evaluation of police practices, but also have shown a consistent record of incorporating evidence-based practices into policing. The 2014 inductees are:

Chief Art Acevedo, Austin (TX) Police Department
Chief Edward Flynn, Milwaukee (WI) Police Department
Cpt. Tim Hegarty, Manhattan (KS) Police Department
Asst. Chief Clark Kimerer, Seattle (WA) Police Department
Sgt. Renee Mitchell, Sacramento (CA) Police Department
Chief Supt. Alex Murray, West Midlands Police (UK)
Cmdr. Roberto Santos, Port St. Lucie (FL) Police Department