Team Members

HomeTeam MembersDavid Weisburd

David Weisburd, Ph.D.

Executive Director

David Weisburd is a Distinguished Professor at George Mason University and Executive Director of the Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy. He is also the Walter E. Meyer Professor Emeritus of Law and Criminal Justice at the Hebrew University Faculty of Law in Jerusalem. He also serves as Chief Science Adviser at the Police Foundation. Professor Weisburd is an elected Fellow of the American Society of Criminology and of the Academy of Experimental Criminology. He was a member of the Science Advisory Board of the Office of Justice Programs, and serves presently on the Steering Committee of the Campbell Crime and Justice Group, the Stockholm Prize Committee, and the Scientific Commission of the International Society of Criminology. He is also a National Associate of the National Research Council of the National Academy of Sciences, and was the Chair of the National Academy of Sciences Committee on Proactive Policing. Professor Weisburd is one of the leading international researchers in crime and justice. He is author or editor of more than thirty books and more than 240 scientific articles that cover a wide range of criminal justice research topics, including crime at place, violent crime, white collar crime, policing, illicit markets, terrorism, criminal justice statistics and social deviance. Professor Weisburd was the founding Editor of the Journal of Experimental Criminology and served as the General Editor of the Journal of Quantitative Criminology. He is presently Editor of the Cambridge Elements Series in Criminology. He has received many awards for his contributions to criminology and crime prevention. These include: the Stockholm Prize in Criminology (2010); the Klachky Family Prize for the Advancement of the Frontiers of Science (2011); the Jerry Lee Award for Lifetime Achievement in Experimental Criminology (Division of Experimental Criminology, ASC, 2014), the Robert Boruch Award for distinctive contributions to research that influences public policy of the Campbell Collaboration (2014); the Sutherland Award for "outstanding contributions to the discipline of criminology" (ASC, 2014); the Israel Prize (generally regarded as the State of Israel's highest civilian honor) (2015); the Mentoring Award for “excellence in mentorship in the discipline of Criminology and Criminal Justice” (ASC, 2016); the August Vollmer Award for contributions to the prevention of crime (ASC, 2017); The Robert Peel Medal (Institute of Criminology, University of Cambridge, 2022); and the Rothschild Prize for Social Science (2022).