The Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy established the “CEBCP Distinguished Achievement Award in Evidence-Based Crime Policy” in 2010. Consistent with the mission of the Center, this award recognizes outstanding achievements and contributions by individuals in academia, practice, or the policy arena who are committed to a leadership role in advancing the use of scientific research evidence in decisions about crime and justice policies. This role includes notable efforts in connecting criminology, law and society researchers with criminal justice institutions, or advancing scientific research more generally in crime and justice. The award is conferred yearly. This year’s winners, Doris MacKenzie and the Hon. James K. Stewart will be presented their honors at our next symposium which will take place in June, 2017.

Quick view: 2017 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

2017 Recipients:

Doris MacKenzie

Professor of Sociology and Criminology, The Pennsylvania State University



The Hon. James K. Stewart

Public Safety Director, CNA, and former Director of the National Institute of Justice (1982-1990)


2015 Recipients:

Herman Goldstein

Professor of Law Emeritus, University of Wisconsin

Acceptance remarks



Wesley Skogan

Professor, Northwestern University

Acceptance video


2014 Recipients:

Nicholas Fyfe

Director, Scottish Institute for Policing Research
Professor, University of Dundee

Acceptance remarks



Jeremy Travis

President, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Acceptance remarks




2013 Recipients:


Laurie Robinson

Robinson Professor, George Mason University
Formally U.S. Assistant Attorney General, Office of Justice Programs





Lawrence Sherman

Director and Professor, Institute of Criminology, Cambridge University (UK)
Distinguished Univerity Professor, University of Maryland



2012 Recipients:


Jeffrey Beard

Secretary, California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation






Paul Gendreau

Professor Emeritus, University of New Brunswick




2011 Recipients:


Peter Neyroud, CBE, QPM

Cambridge University; National Policing Improvement Agency (retired)






Charles Wellford

Professor Emeritus, University of Maryland




2010 Recipients:


Darrel Stephens

Executive Director, Major City Chiefs
Chief, Charlotte-Mecklenburg (NC) Police Department (Retired)






Joan Petersilia

Professor, Stanford University Law School